Florida Laws Applying to Hit-and-Run Car Accidents
Under Florida law, people involved in car accidents in the state need to perform certain tasks. Failure to stay at the scene or to notify authorities of an accident can result in criminal charges in the state.*
If you are involved in a car accident that resulted in property damage only (no injuries), you need to take steps to exchange information with the other driver. This information includes your name, your contact information, your vehicle and insurance information, and a copy of your driver’s license or driver’s permit.
If this information cannot be provided directly to the vehicle owner — in the case of hitting a parked vehicle, for example — you need to contact police to report the accident. Any time police have been contacted about an accident, you cannot leave the scene before officers arrive. Even if you think the property damage is minor, you need to stay, or you will risk being charged with leaving the scene of an accident.
If you are involved in an accident that caused serious injury, not only do you need to stay at the scene under Florida law, you also have a duty to call 911 so that authorities and emergency responders can come to the accident site and render aid. After calling 911, you still need to remain at the scene.
Failure to stay at the scene and/or to render aid in the event of serious injuries or death can result in criminal charges and serious penalties. Fines can range from $5,000 to $10,000, and jail time can range from five years to 30 years.
Put Our Law Firm's Over 35 Years Of Legal Experience To Work For Your Case!
If you have been injured by any type of accident caused by someone else's negligence, call Montlick & Associates, Attorneys at Law for your free consultation today. Montlick & Associates, Attorneys at Law has been representing those who suffer serious injuries for over 35 years.
No matter where you are located our attorneys are just a phone call away, and we will even come to you. Call us 24 hours day/7 days a week for your Free Consultation at 1-800-LAW-NEED (1-800-529-6333). You can also visit us online at www.montlick.com and use our Free Case Evaluation Form or 24-hour live chat.