DeKalb County Auto Accidents Involving Out-of-State Drivers Pose Potential Insurance Issues
If you are injured in an auto accident in DeKalb County or the surrounding vicinity, you might be entitled to financial compensation if the other driver is legally responsible for causing the accident. While your damages typically will be paid by the insurance company of the at-fault driver, your situation can potentially be more complicated if the other driver is from out-of-state. An out-of-state driver might have more limited insurance coverage because states vary in terms of the minimum amount of insurance that drivers must purchase. If the out-of-state driver involved in the accident does have more limited insurance, you might need to review your policy to identify other types of coverage that can provide additional compensation.
Complex issues involving jurisdiction can arise when out-of-state motorists cause a car accident in Georgia. In broad terms, jurisdiction refers in part to the state court empowered to adjudicate the case. The issue of jurisdiction can be extremely complicated, so you should contact an experienced DeKalb County personal injury attorney if you have questions about jurisdiction involving a car accident with a driver from another state.
Putting aside the issue of jurisdiction for the moment, another challenge that might occur if you are involved in a crash with an out-of-state driver involves insurance coverage. Georgia drivers are required to carry at least $25,000 of liability coverage per injury victim and $50,000 for all injury victims. Under Georgia law, motorists also must carry a minimum of $25,000 in liability coverage for property damage. Although Georgia drivers with only minimum coverage might have inadequate coverage to fully compensate an injury victim, underinsured motorist coverage, collision coverage and medical payment coverage under the injury victim’s own policy can provide additional financial compensation.
The importance of these other forms of coverage can be more important when you are hit by a driver from a state with lower insurance minimums. For example, Florida only requires drivers to carry $10,000 per injury victim and $20,000 to cover all parties injured in a crash. In California, motorists are only required carry $5,000 in property damage. If you or someone close to you is involved in a collision with a driver with limits this low, there is a significant risk that the underinsured driver will have insufficient coverage to fully compensate you for your medical bills, lost wages, vehicle damage, pain and suffering and other forms of loss. Our DeKalb County personal injury lawyers conduct an investigation of our clients’ cases to identify all potential defendants and insurance coverage.
Put Our Law Firm's Over 36 Years of Legal Experience to Work For Your Claim
Our attorneys at Montlick and Associates have been representing those who suffer serious injuries throughout all of Georgia and in the Southeast for over thirty years, including but not limited to Albany, Athens, Atlanta, Augusta, Columbus, Gainesville, Macon, Marietta, Rome, Roswell, Savannah, Smyrna, Valdosta, Warner Robins and all smaller cities and rural areas in the state. No matter where you are located our attorneys are just a phone call away, and we will even come to you. Call us 24 hours a day/7 days a week for your Free Consultation at 1-800-LAW-NEED (1-800-529-6333). You can also visit us online at www.montlick.com and use our Free Case Evaluation Form or 24-hour Live Online Chat.