Laws Applicable to Pedestrians in Tennessee
Tennessee Pedestrian Laws
Title 55 of the Tennessee Code contains laws applicable to pedestrians in the state. Pedestrian laws span an array of issues, such as right-of-way, crosswalks, pedestrian crossings, intersections, and traffic signals.
At driveways and intersections in Tennessee, pedestrians have the right-of-way. If a pedestrian is crossing a roadway outside of a crosswalk or intersection, oncoming motorists have the right-of-way, and the pedestrian will need to wait until it is clear to cross.
Both motorists and pedestrians have a legal obligation to use reasonable care to avoid an accident. For motorists, this means using caution, paying attention to the road, obeying posted speed limits, and alerting inattentive pedestrians by honking the horn. For pedestrians, this means using sidewalks, using crosswalks when available, obeying crossing signals, and yielding when crossing at points other than intersections.
Tennessee Comparative Negligence
Tennessee recognizes the rule of modified comparative negligence, which sometimes applies in pedestrian accident cases. If a pedestrian is found partially at fault for his injuries, he can still recover compensation, but his recovery will be reduced by his percentage of fault, up to 50 percent. If the pedestrian is found 50 percent or more at fault for his injuries, he will not be able to recover compensation.
Put Our Law Firm's Legal Experience To Work For You! We Know What It Takes To Win!™
While we hope you are safe and never need our services, we are here to help you if you are involved in any type of accident or just have a question. Call Montlick & Associates, Injury Attorneys, for your free consultation today. Our law firm has been representing those who suffer serious injuries for over 36 years and our attorneys have recovered billions of dollars for our clients. We Know What It Takes To Win!™
No matter where you are located our attorneys are just a phone call away, and we will even come to you. Call us nationwide 24 hours day/7 days a week for your Free Consultation at 1-800-LAW-NEED (1-800-529-6333), or simply dial #WIN (#946) from your mobile phone. You can also visit us online at Montlick.com and use our Free Case Evaluation Form or Free 24-hour live chat.
(Downloads PDF file - https://www.cpsc.gov/s3fs-public/pdfs/blk_pdf_TennesseeLaw.pdf)