Georgia’s Auto Insurance Requirement Laws
Every state has its own requirements as far as auto insurance and the amounts and types of coverage that drivers are supposed to maintain. Below is a look at the laws and requirements pertaining to auto insurance in Georgia.
Georgia is a fault-based state when it comes to car accidents. In a fault state, the person who will need to pay for damages is determined by a decision about who caused the accident. The person who caused the accident will be responsible for the other parties’ damages, and compensation will usually be paid through insurance claims.
Because Georgia is a fault state, all drivers in the state are required to carry insurance coverage for property damage and bodily injury in the event they cause an accident. Every driver must have at least $25,000 in coverage for property damage and at least $25,000 in coverage per person for bodily injury, and $50,000 per occurrence. These are the bare minimum requirements, and it is advisable to obtain insurance coverage beyond the minimums, as car accident injuries and damage can quickly exceed these amounts.
To make sure that you have adequate insurance coverage, you should discuss all of your options with your insurance agent. Your combined liability coverage is all you must have under Georgia law, but it does not protect you if you are also injured in an accident that you caused or if the at-fault driver does not have insurance or does not have enough insurance to cover your damages.
Your agent can talk to you about full coverage options and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage that will keep you protected. And if you are injured in an accident in Georgia caused by someone else’s negligence, it is important to contact an attorney as soon as possible to review your legal options.
Put Our Law Firm's Over 35 Years Of Legal Experience To Work For Your Case!
If you have been injured by any type of accident caused by someone else's negligence, call Montlick & Associates, Attorneys at Law for your free consultation today. Montlick & Associates, Attorneys at Law has been representing those who suffer serious injuries for over 35 years.
No matter where you are located our attorneys are just a phone call away, and we will even come to you. Call us 24 hours a day/7 days a week for your Free Consultation at 1-800-LAW-NEED (1-800-529-6333). You can also visit us online at Montlick.com and use our Free Case Evaluation Form or 24-hour live chat.