Injured? Dial #WIN or #946 from your cellphone for your free consultation or call 1-800-LAW-NEED.
Call Us 24/7
( 1-800-529-6333 )
Click to Call 24/7

What is Banned Under Georgia’s New Hands-Free Law?

June 07, 2018

GEORGIA – June 4, 2018 ( An article from outlines the activities prohibited and allowed under the new Hands-Free Law in the state of Georgia.

Georgia’s new Hands-Free Law will go into effect on July 1. With limited time remaining before the law goes into effect, Georgia drivers should read up on the activities they will and will not be able to perform while driving after July 1.  

The law’s co-author, Rep. John Carson, R-Marietta, says one of the biggest misconceptions about the law is that drivers will not be able to use their cell phones at all. Drivers can still use their phones in the car, but they cannot physically hold or cradle the phones. Aside from making emergency calls, drivers can only use their phones in hands-free mode. 

What is hands-free mode? Legal, hands-free uses of cell phones after July 1 will include Bluetooth connections, single-ear headphones or earbuds, and voice-to-text features. Essentially, drivers can still use their phones while driving if they have technology that allows them to use their phones without holding them or continuously hitting buttons. Even in hands-free mode, drivers cannot use their phones if they have to swipe more than once or push more than one button to answer calls or send messages. 

In addition to handheld cell phone use, drivers also cannot email, watch videos, or take videos while driving. However, drivers can still use GPS devices or dash navigation, provided they are not constantly pushing buttons or looking at the navigation to use it. If drivers are “legally parked,” they can use their phones or electronic devices however they wish. Legally parked means the car is fully in park and sitting in a legal parking space. It does not include stops at lights or stops in traffic.  

Drivers will have a short grace period when the law takes effect, after which fines begin at $50 for the first offense. 

Put Our Law Firm'sOver 39 Years Of Legal Experience To Work For Your Case!

If you have been injured in any type of accident caused by someone else’s negligence, call Montlick & Associates, Attorneys at Law for your free consultation today. Montlick & Associates, Attorneys at Law has been representing those who suffer serious injuries throughout all of Georgia and in the Southeast for over 39 years, including but not limited to Albany, Athens, Atlanta, Augusta, Columbus, Gainesville, Macon, Marietta, Rome, Roswell, Savannah, Smyrna, Valdosta, Warner Robins and all smaller cities and rural areas in the state.

No matter where you are located our attorneys are just a phone call away, and we will even come to you. Call us 24 hours day/7 days a week for your Free Consultation at 1-800-LAW-NEED (1-800-529-6333). You can also visit us online at and use our Free Case Evaluation Form or 24-hour live chat.

Montlick & Associates, Attorneys at Law

17 Executive Park Dr NE
Atlanta, GA 30329
Telephone: 1 (800) LAW-NEED
Telephone: 1 (404) 529-6333

Category: Auto Accidents

Please Note:
All information provided by our blogs is general in nature and should not be relied upon as legal advice. Consult a Montlick attorney for details about your unique situation.

We have updated our privacy policy. By continuing, you are agreeing to our terms.