Frequently Asked Questions About Distracted Driving in Georgia
Distracted driving is a tremendous problem in Georgia and across the United States. The Georgia car accident attorneys at Montlick and Associates, Attorneys at Law, are alarmed by the high rates of distracted driving within our state. We offer the following look at some questions commonly asked concerning distracted driving and hope that with more knowledge, drivers will put down their phones and focus strictly on the road ahead.
What is distracted driving?
Distracted driving is defined as driving with yone's attention diverted from the roadway. Distraction can be as simple as looking at a GPS, changing the radio station, or looking at a child. It can also be complicated, such as texting or interacting on social media.
What is Georgia's law concerning distracted driving?
Georgia has banned texting while driving for everyone. In addition, the use of cell phones is entirely banned for bus and novice drivers. Novice drivers are defined as anyone under the age of 18. Thus far, the state has not banned the use of cell phones for all drivers, but it could take such a step in the future.
Georgia's texting ban is a primary law, meaning that police officers and state troopers can pull over a driver if they suspect the driver is texting and driving. Law enforcement officers do not need another reason to stop the vehicle.
Is it illegal to text at a stop light?
It is a common misconception held by some drivers that it is safe or legal to text and drive while you wait at a stop light. Drivers engage in this practice often, but it is illegal in Georgia and could be grounds for a citation. Even further, texting at a stoplight can result in a car accident. Texting drivers could be rear-ended by not moving on a green light or may move forward prior to a light changing. Never text while driving, even if stopped.
I am traveling out of state. Can I get a ticket if I drive through a state with a cell phone ban, even if I do not know the law exists?
You most definitely can get a ticket if you violate that state's cell phone ban, regardless of your knowledge of the law. Ignorance of a law is normally not an excuse for violating distracted driving laws. Pay close attention to the laws of the state and cities in which you plan to travel. Often, road signs will inform you of the ban. Otherwise, research the laws of the area you will be passing through in advance of your trip.
Montlick and Associates, Attorneys at Law: Put Our Over 37 Years of Experience to Work on Your Case!
If you or a loved one is injured in a traffic accident, contact the Georgia Automobile Accident Attorneys at Montlick and Associates, Attorneys at Law. Our law firm is dedicated to assisting injured accident victims across Georgia and in the Southeast. We bring over 37 years of experience to your car accident case, striving to provide you with the exceptional representation you need to obtain the best possible outcome. The sooner you act after your accident, the greater your chances of obtaining a full recovery. As such, it is important that you seek the assistance of a licensed lawyer as soon as possible. Call Montlick & Associates, Attorneys at Law, 24 hours a day/7 days a week for your Free Consultation at 1-800-LAW-NEED (1-800-529-6333). You can also visit us online at www.montlick.com and use our Free Case Evaluation Form or 24-hour Live Online Chat.