Tips on Avoiding Accidents with Intoxicated Drivers in Georgia
There are several reasons why accidents occur; however, driver negligence is certainly the top cause of accidents in Georgia. Negligence arises when people drive while distracted, fatigued, or in a reckless or aggressive manner. Additionally, driver negligence also occurs when people operate a vehicle while intoxicated or impaired by drugs and/or alcohol. It goes without saying that driving while impaired can lead to serious consequences for all drivers and passengers involved, such as serious injury or death. Because people under the influence of alcohol or drugs are not as capable at reacting as sober drivers, accidents often become an inevitable reality.
In Georgia, the law provides that drivers below the age of twenty-one are considered impaired if they have a blood alcohol level at or above 0.02%. For all other drivers over the age of twenty-one, a blood alcohol level of 0.08% or more will lead to their arrest. If a person is caught driving while intoxicated in Georgia, they could face jail time, the length of which depends upon whether it is a first time or repeated offense. The same goes for the amount of fines and penalties which could be assessed at anywhere from $300 to several thousands of dollars, depending upon whether or not the person is a repeat DUI offender. License suspensions also follow the same analysis in that the severity of which is contingent upon the status of the driver. Lastly, a driver can be held responsible for the damages that they cause which can include lost wages, medical bills, compensation for pain and suffering, and for extreme cases like driving while intoxicated it may be possible to recover punitive damages as well.
While avoiding a crash is not always possible, there are some tips you can follow that can help you avoid a DUI-related accident.
- Don't drink and drive. As much as you think you are okay to drive, there is no doubt that buzzed driving is drunk driving. Play it safe and have a designated driver take you home. If that is not possible, arrange for someone else to be on call to pick you up and make sure that you get home safely.
- Report reckless drivers. If you see someone that is visibly impaired or driving in a way to suggest same, don't hesitate to call the police. Be sure to write down the make, model and license plate number of the driver so that they can be properly identified by police.
- Avoid driving late at night, if possible. According to some studies, around 50% of late night drivers are impaired, whether due to a night out of drinking or partying. Additionally, it is recommended that you avoid driving on heavy drinking-related holidays such as Thanksgiving, St. Patrick's Day and New Years' Eve.
If you have been injured by an intoxicated driver in Georgia, including in an auto, truck, motorcycle, bicycle or bus collision, it is essential that you speak with an experienced Georgia auto accident attorney who has the knowledge and skills necessary to handle your case. Make sure you know your legal rights and the steps that must be taken to protect those rights.
With 30 years of legal experience, Montlick and Associates, Attorneys at Law, has successfully helped thousands of victims of impaired drivers obtain the compensation they deserve for their injuries.
The Georgia auto accident lawyers of Montlick and Associates, Attorneys at Law, tenaciously represent drunk driving victims located throughout the state of Georgia and all over the Southeast. Our firm covers all smaller cities in Georgia and the rural parts of the state as well. Regardless of where you are located, our lawyers are just a phone call away, and we will even come to you.
To schedule your free, confidential case evaluation, you can call us 24 hours a day/7 days a week at 1-800-LAW-NEED (1-800-529-6333). You can also visit us online at www.montlick.com and use our Free Case Evaluation Form or 24-hour Live Online Chat.