Hands-Free Law in Georgia Leads to Nearly 50,000 Tickets
GEORGIA- Augustachronicle.com writes that in the first two years of the Georgia hands-free law taking effect, officers in the state have cited almost 50,000 people for violations of the law. In July of 2018, drivers were informed that police would fine those motorists who failed to put their smartphones down when driving their vehicles.*
At the end of June of 2020, the law had been used to issue 49,535 citations. The vast majority of such citations were made because motorists were holding their electronic devices while driving.
The law does permit the hands-free use of phones for calls and GPS. However, no texting is permitted. A violation of the law can lead to a $50 fine. For first time offenders, there is also one point added to their license. The fine and the points double in the event of a second violation, and triple for a third violation of the law.
Some legislators attempted to increase the fine for violating the law, but the bill did not pass.
According to officers in the state, some drivers have become accustomed to using Bluetooth technology and are abiding by the hands-free requirements. Of course, other motorists are just getting better at hiding their use of phones from officers. Overall, though, police believe that compliance has increased since the law first went into effect.
South Carolina legislators are still trying to pass a similar ban on hand-held devices. However, the coronavirus led to delays in the passing of that bill.
Hands-free laws are on the books in half of all states and in the District of Columbia. More states are working to implement such laws as a way to improve safety.
Put Our Law Firm's Legal Experience To Work For You! We Know What It Takes To Win!™
While we hope you are safe and never need our services, our Accident Lawyers are here to help you if you are involved in any type of accident or just have a question. Call Montlick & Associates, Injury Attorneys, for your free consultation today. Our law firm has been representing those who suffer serious injuries for over 36 years and our attorneys have recovered billions of dollars in compensation for personal injury claims and collision lawsuit settlements for our clients. We Know What It Takes To Win!™
If you are having trouble obtaining compensation for medical bills, lost wages, rental car reimbursement, and other accident-related costs from the at-fault drivers insurance company adjuster, call to learn about your rights.
No matter where you are located our lawyers are just a phone call away, and we will even come to you. Call us nationwide 24 hours day/7 days a week for your Free Consultation at 1-800-LAW-NEED (1-800-529-6333), or simply dial #WIN (#946) from your mobile phone. You can also visit us online at Montlick.com and use our Free Case Evaluation Form or Free 24-hour live chat.