Woman is Killed in Decatur Accident Involving Three Vehicles
DECATUR, ALABAMA - According to an online news article published by www.waff.com, a 27-year-old woman sustained fatal injuries in a 3-vehicle accident.*
A late morning Decatur accident on Point Mallard Parkway just west of Refuge Headquarters Road ended in tragedy when a 27-year-old woman involved in the accident suffered fatal injuries. The cause of the woman’s death was blunt force trauma.
According to local police, the 27-year-old woman had been driving south on Point Mallard Parkway (also known as Alabama 67) when she hydroplaned and lost control of her vehicle. The woman’s Dodge Challenger subsequently crossed over the median into oncoming traffic traveling northbound on Point Mallard Road. The woman’s vehicle struck an Infiniti SUV right before she was struck in the driver’s door by a Chevrolet Silverado traveling north on Point Mallard Road.
The 27-year-old woman was transported to Decatur Morgan Hospital for treatment but was pronounced dead shortly after arrival to the hospital. The driver of the Silverado was transported to Decatur Morgan Hospital for treatment of non-life-threatening injuries.
Alabama Accident Reporting and Insurance Requirements
Alabama has an accident reporting requirement that many drivers may not be familiar with. Under Alabama law, any accident involving physical injuries or death or an accident resulting in property damage exceeding $250, must be reported to the Alabama Department of Public Safety within 30 days of the accident.
Most states require drivers to have car insurance, but each state may have slightly different requirements as to the coverage and liability limits. Alabama is considered a "fault” state which means that if an accident happens, the driver or party considered at fault for causing the accident is liable for all damages, which include the costs associated with any physical injuries and property damage. Alabama has the following minimum insurance requirements:
- $25,000 for death/bodily injury to one person, $50,000 per occurrence; and
- $25,000 for damage or destruction to property.
Often, the costs associated with physical injuries or death as well as property damage exceed the minimum required limits, which may leave an injured person with insufficient coverage to handle the cost of medical expenses, lost wages, and other costs associated with an accident. This is why our attorneys will look to all avenues of recovery, including our clients' own Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage.
Accident News is a driver safety and education initiative from Montlick & Associates, designed to help people better understand and thereby avoid common accident causes. To learn more about our injury prevention programs, including iridesafe.com - click here. We hope you are never in an accident, but if you or family member are injured, call Montlick & Associates 24/7 for your free consultation at 1-800-LAW-NEED (1-800-529-6333) or use our live chat at Montlick.com.
* This blog is intended to provide the public with news concerning serious automobile accidents and related stories. Although we are receiving this information from news organizations, initial reports may be different from conclusions reached by law enforcement personnel and other organizations, upon further investigation. Therefore, the accuracy of the content is not guaranteed. The information published here is based on information that has already been reported by a news organization, or other sources, and we cannot and do not assume responsibility for its accuracy. The source that we utilized at the time is provided above. If this posting pertains to you or your family and you do not wish for it to be on our website, please email us at [email protected] and we will be happy to remove it, but when doing so, please include a link to the the article that you wish to be taken down.