Tennessee Enacts New Law Banning Cellphone Use While Driving
TENNESSEE – According to an online news report at kfvs12.com, a new law that prohibits the use of cellphones when behind the wheel will be in effect on July 1, 2019.*
The governor of Tennessee, Bill Lee, signed the bill into law on May 24, 2019. People who violate the law will be fined up to $100, and if the infraction leads to an accident, the amount of penalties will increase to $200.
The law was first introduced by a state representative and was supposed to be in effect in 2020. However, the bill was amended to start on July 1. Up until June 30, 2019, the use of handheld devices are only banned in school zones.
Accident News is a driver safety and education initiative from Montlick & Associates, designed to help people better understand and thereby avoid common accident causes. To learn more about our injury prevention programs, including iridesafe.com - click here. We hope you are never in an accident, but if you or family member are injured, call Montlick & Associates 24/7 for your free consultation at 1-800-LAW-NEED (1-800-529-6333) or use our live chat at Montlick.com.
* This blog is intended to provide the public with news concerning serious automobile accidents and related stories. Although we are receiving this information from news organizations, initial reports may be different from conclusions reached by law enforcement personnel and other organizations, upon further investigation. Therefore, the accuracy of the content is not guaranteed. The information published here is based on information that has already been reported by a news organization, or other sources, and we cannot and do not assume responsibility for its accuracy. The source that we utilized at the time is provided above. If this posting pertains to you or your family and you do not wish for it to be on our website, please email us at [email protected] and we will be happy to remove it, but when doing so, please include a link to the the article that you wish to be taken down.