California Lawmakers Propose Lowering BAC Driving Limit to .05


March 10, 2019

CALIFORNIA – Lawmakers in the state of California have proposed legislation to lower the blood alcohol content limit for driving to .05, according to an online story from visaliatimesdelta.com. Currently, the limit in California — and almost every other U.S. state — stands at .08.*

In a bipartisan move, Autumn Burke (D-Marina Del Rey) and Heath Flora (R-Ripon) have proposed Assembly Bill 1713, which would make it illegal to drive in the state of California with a BAC of .05 or greater. This would place California on the same level as Utah for the most stringent DUI laws in the country. Utah last year passed a law to lower its BAC driving limit to .05. 

California’s move follows recommendations made by the National Transportation Safety Board in a 2013 report, in which the agency stated that impairment is known to begin before a person reaches a .08 BAC, which is legal limit for driving in every state in the U.S. except Utah. NTSB went on to say that when a person’s BAC reaches .08, his or her risk of a deadly vehicle crash has increased by more than two times. NTSB then recommended lowering the limit to .05.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration states that a BAC of .05 would mean consumption of only one alcoholic beverage for a woman who weighs 160 pounds and only two alcoholic beverages for a man who weighs 200 pounds. The news that California patrons could potentially only have one drink if they wanted to drive their own vehicles has some bar owners concerned, while others do not see the proposed bill as a problem in the age of ridesharing. 

Put Our Law Firm's Over 35 Years Of Legal Experience To Work For Your Case!

If you have been injured in any type of accident caused by someone else’s negligence, call Montlick & Associates, Attorneys at Law for your free consultation today. Montlick & Associates, Attorneys at Law has been representing those who suffer serious injuries throughout the Southeast for over 35 years, including but not limited to all smaller cities and rural areas.

No matter where you are located our attorneys are just a phone call away, and we will even come to you. Call us 24 hours day/7 days a week for your Free Consultation at 1-800-LAW-NEED (1-800-529-6333). You can also visit us online at www.montlick.com and use our Free Case Evaluation Form or 24-hour live chat.

Source:https://www.visaliatimesdelta.com/story/news/2019/03/07/california-could-pass-strictest-dui-law-country/3042616002/

* This blog is intended to provide the public with news concerning serious automobile accidents and related stories. Although we are receiving this information from news organizations, initial reports may be different from conclusions reached by law enforcement personnel and other organizations, upon further investigation. Therefore, the accuracy of the content is not guaranteed. The information published here is based on information that has already been reported by a news organization, or other sources, and we cannot and do not assume responsibility for its accuracy. The source that we utilized at the time is provided above. If this posting pertains to you or your family and you do not wish for it to be on our website, please email us at [email protected] and we will be happy to remove it, but when doing so, please include a link to the the article that you wish to be taken down.

Category: Accident News

Please Note:
Many of our blog articles discuss the law. All information provided about the law is very general in nature and should not be relied upon as legal advice. Every situation is different, and should be analyzed by a lawyer who can provide individualized advice based on the facts involved in your unique situation, and a consideration of all of the nuances of the statutes and case law that apply at the time.