Penalties for Impaired Driving in the State of Georgia
GEORGIA – May 23, 2018 (gahighwaysafety.org) Georgia has specific laws and penalties that apply to impaired drivers, as explained by the Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety.*
“Impaired driving” generally refers to someone who is under the influence of drugs or alcohol while operating a motor vehicle. In Georgia, the penalties for someone caught driving while impaired depend on the number of offenses that driver has committed within the last five years.
Upon the first offense of impaired driving, someone will face a fine between $300 and $1,000, jail time of up to one year, license suspension of up to one year with a $210 license reinstatement fee, and 40 hours of community service.
After the second offense of impaired driving, someone will face a fine between $600 and $1,000, jail time of up to one year with a minimum of 48 hours in jail, license suspension for three years with a $210 license reinstatement fee, and 30 days of community service. In addition, second-time offenders will have to complete a clinical evaluation and possible substance abuse treatment program at their own expense.
In a third offense of impaired driving, someone will face a fine between $1,000 and $5,000, minimum jail time of 15 days, license suspension for five years, and a minimum of 30 days’ community service. In addition, third-time offenders, considered habitual violators, must undergo a clinical evaluation and complete a substance abuse treatment program at their own expense. They will also have to have their name, photo, and address published in the newspaper at their own expense, and their license plates will be seized and sent back to the Department of Motor Vehicles.
Accident News is a driver safety and education initiative from Montlick & Associates, designed to help drivers better understand and thereby avoid common accident causes. To learn more about our injury prevention programs, including iridesafe.com - click here. We hope you are never in an accident, but if you or family member are injured, call Montlick & Associates 24/7 for your a free consultation at 1-800-LAW-NEED (1-800-529-6333) or use our live chat at Montlick.com.
Montlick & Associates, Attorneys at Law
17 Executive Park Dr NE
Atlanta, GA 30329
Telephone: 1 (800) LAW-NEED
Telephone: 1 (404) 529-6333
* This blog is intended to provide the public with news concerning serious automobile accidents and related stories. Although we are receiving this information from news organizations, initial reports may be different from conclusions reached by law enforcement personnel and other organizations, upon further investigation. Therefore, the accuracy of the content is not guaranteed. The information published here is based on information that has already been reported by a news organization, or other sources, and we cannot and do not assume responsibility for its accuracy. The source that we utilized at the time is provided above. If this posting pertains to you or your family and you do not wish for it to be on our website, please email us at [email protected] and we will be happy to remove it, but when doing so, please include a link to the the article that you wish to be taken down.