As of July 1, the New Georgia Hands Free Law Will be in Effect
TIFTON, GA – May 22, 2018 (suwaneedemocrat.com) — According to an online report at suwaneedemocract.com, effective July 1, 2018, a new hands-free law will require Georgia drivers to put their phones down when behind the wheel.*
The Hands-Free Georgia Act was recently signed by Governor Nathan Deal and prohibits drivers from using a “wireless communication device” or “stand-alone electronic device” when behind the wheel. Per the new law, a wireless communication device is defined as a “cell phone, text messaging device, PDA, computer, or GPS.” A stand-alone electronic device is defined as a “device other than a wireless communication device which stores audio or video files to be retrieved on demand by a user.”
As of July 1, 2018, drivers will not be able to make calls, text, watch or record videos while driving. Per the report, a driver will be prohibited from holding a restricted device in their hand or “physically hold or support [a restricted device] with any part of his or her body,” including having a device in their lap. Drivers will not be prohibited from using hands free options such as Bluetooth or using voice commands with an earpiece, headphone device, or device on one’s wrist.
The only exception to the new law is that drivers may use a wireless communication device with their hands if reporting an emergency such as a car crash, medical incident, criminal activity or a dangerous road condition “which causes an immediate serious traffic or safety hazard.”
According to the report, “public safety personnel, such as law enforcement officers, firefighters and ambulance drivers are exempt from the law while performing their official duties, and utility workers are exempt if they are responding to a utility emergency, such as power lines being down.”
Commercial vehicle operators will not be allowed to use more than a single button to make or end a call or from reaching for a device that causes them to remain in a seated position or wear a seatbelt.
A first time offender will be fined up to $50. A second time conviction that occurs within twenty four months is a fine of up to $100. A third within twenty four months is a fine of up to $150.
Accident News is a driver safety and education initiative from Montlick & Associates, designed to help drivers better understand and thereby avoid common accident causes. To learn more about our injury prevention programs, including iridesafe.com - click here. We hope you are never in an accident, but if you or family member are injured, call Montlick & Associates 24/7 for your a free consultation at 1-800-LAW-NEED (1-800-529-6333) or use our live chat at Montlick.com.
Montlick & Associates, Attorneys at Law
17 Executive Park Dr NE
Atlanta, GA 30329
Telephone: 1 (800) LAW-NEED
Telephone: 1 (404) 529-6333
* This blog is intended to provide the public with news concerning serious automobile accidents and related stories. Although we are receiving this information from news organizations, initial reports may be different from conclusions reached by law enforcement personnel and other organizations, upon further investigation. Therefore, the accuracy of the content is not guaranteed. The information published here is based on information that has already been reported by a news organization, or other sources, and we cannot and do not assume responsibility for its accuracy. The source that we utilized at the time is provided above. If this posting pertains to you or your family and you do not wish for it to be on our website, please email us at [email protected] and we will be happy to remove it, but when doing so, please include a link to the the article that you wish to be taken down.